SCCD 31788 Vic Juris “Walking On Water”

Vic Juris’ versatile and innovative mind finds a perfect setting for his latest album here in the relatively seldom heard guitar/trumpet quartet (without piano).

Vic has been collaborating in trumpeter Tim Hagans’ Norbotten Big Band for several years to lay down the ground work for this creative album.

“Vic Juris is a versatile and impressively accomplished guitarist. His playing exudes warmth, intelligence and respect for the tradition. Perhaps best of all, he seems to understand that the foregoing positives also apply to a legion of contemporary guitarists, and he looks for ways to set his work apart, in terms of sound, approach, or material”. ( Duck Baker – JazzTimes on “Remembering Eric Dolphy” SCCD 31453)

1. Mama Luke (Vic Juris)
2. Law Years (Ornette Coleman)
3. Walking On Water (Vic Juris)
4. Have I Told You Lately (Vic Juris)
5. Newtown (Vic Juris)
6. Funny Bone (Vic Juris)
7. Nostalgia (Fats Navarro)
8. After The Storm (Vic Juris)
9. Cyclic Episode (Sam Rivers)
10. All The Things You Are (Jerome Kern)

UPC/EAN: 716043178827