SCCD 31340 Blue Lou / Louis Hayes Sextet

The master drummer Louis Hayes has been the solid beat behind jazz greats such as Oscar Peterson, Cannonball Adderley, McCoy Tyner, Freddie Hubbard and many many others.

As a leader Hayes has been known for his sharp eyes for selecting good sidemen and providing them with surroundings to develop their talents further.

On this session – Louis’ fifth leader album for SteepleChase – “youngsters” Eddie Allen and Javon Jackson are featured along with veteran pianist Ronnie Mathews.

The “hard bop” style of the group reminds us of the Jazz Messengers led by the late Art Blakey.

1. Blue Lou (Javon Jackson)
2. Quiet fire (George Cables)
3. Honey dip (Milton Sealy)
4. Lament for love (Ronnie Mathews)
5. The walk (Eddie Allen)
6. Sweet and lovely (Arnheim/Tobias/Lemare)
7. New endings (Philip Harper)
8. Spur of the moment (Eddie Allen)

UPC/EAN: 716043134021