Archie Shepp, Horace Parlan – Goin’ Home (SCCD 31079)

SCCD 31079 Goin' Home / Archie Shepp & Horace Parlan

When the album by this unlikely duet of Shepp and Parlan playing hymns and spirituals came out in 1978 for the first time, it was an instant success and has become a classic since then. It is a success of unique theme (by the producer Nils Winther) and of sheer strength of musical material and of performance executed with grace and sensitivity.

…an overwhelming and emotional listening experience .” (Atlanta Journal Weekend)

1. Goin' home (Traditional)
2. Nobody knows the troubles I've seen (Traditional)
3. Go down Moses (Traditional)
4. Steal away to Jesus (Traditional)
5. Deep river (Traditional)
6. My Lord what a morning (Traditional)
7. Amazing grace (Traditional)
8. Sometimes I feel like a motherless child (Traditional)
9. Swing low, sweet chariot (Traditional)
10. Come Sunday (Duke Ellington)

UPC/EAN: 716043107926

Stan Getz – Live At Montmartre, Vol. 1 (SCCD 31073)

SCCD 31073 Live At Montmartre Vol. 1 / Stan Getz Quartet

There’s no doubt that Stan Getz was one of the rare species in jazz called “super star” who could draw huge crowd wherever he went to play. The nights he played at Montmartre were needless to say sold-out, packed to the extreme limit and with an extra reason…it was his 50th birthday concert, an appropriate celebration at Europe’s most famous jazz club which Stan helped to launch some 20 years ago when he was living in Denmark.

“… This is simply an album which you can’t criticize. Every track is wonderful. From ballads to up-tempo stuff, this is one of the most solid jazz albums of the year. Don’t miss it. It’s that good.” (Daily Pennsylvania)

1. Morning star (Roger Grant)
2. Lady sings the blues (Alec Wilder)
3. Cancao do sol (Milton Nascimento)
4. Lush life (Billy Strayhorn)
5. Stan's blues (Stan Getz)
6. La Fiesta (Chick Corea)

UPC/EAN: 716043107322

Hal Galper – Reach Out (SCCD 31067)

SCCD 31067 Reach Out / Hal Galper Quintet

This is hard bop at its best, superior playing by pianist Galper and tenor saxist Mike Brecker …good contrast between ballads and exciting up-tempo lines .” (Don Lass, Asbury Park Press)

So the Brecker Brothers can play jazz after all!…You won’t find a drop of funk on this record, just good old, straight-ahead, swinging jazz….Hal Galper must be given credit for channelling the music in the right direction …” (Carl Brauer, Cadence)

“… in pianist Hal Galper’s acoustic progressive jazz combo, trumpeter Randy and saxophonist Michael Brecker play with conviction and emotion…Good stuff .” (Oakland Tribune)

1. Reach out (Hal Galper)
2. I'll never stop loving you (Brodsky)
3. Spidit (Hal Galper)
4. My man's gone now (George Gershwin)
5. Waiting for Chet (Hal Galper)
6. I can't get started (Vernon Duke)
7. Children of the night (Hal Galper)

UPC/EAN: 716043106721