SCCD 31041 Jaywalkin' / Niels-Henning Ørsted Pedersen Quartet

The tremendous career this double bass player with a non-stop-name had already achieved by the time of the recording of his first leader album here is as impressive as his technique. NHØP (b. May 27, 1946 in Osted, Denmark) started playing professionally at an early teenage and recorded with Bud Powell when he was 14! He turned down the offer to join Count Basie’s orchestra in order to finish high school.

“… a superb musician with a gorgeous tone, great technique and dazzling virtuosity…This is a great music .” (High Fidelity Magazine USA)

Immensely satisfying, Jaywalkin’ is a must for anyone seriously interested in contemporary jazz .” (Overseas Life)

Extremely enjoyable !” (Swing Journal)

1. Summer song (Niels-Henning Ørsted Pedersen)
2. Sparkling eyes (Niels-Henning Ørsted Pedersen)
3. A felicidade (Luiz Bonfa)
4. Jaywalkin' (Niels-Henning Ørsted Pedersen)
5. My little Anna (Niels-Henning Ørsted Pedersen)
6. Yesterday's future (Niels-Henning Ørsted Pedersen)
7. Interlude (Niels-Henning Ørsted Pedersen)
8. Cheryl (Charlie Parker)
9. That's all (Brandt/Haymes)
10. Summer song (Niels-Henning Ørsted Pedersen)

UPC/EAN: 716043104123