SCCD 31786 Michael Cochrane Trio “Discovery”

After a 7-year hiatus from the recording scene pianist Michael Cochrane came back strong with his new trio consisting of two Johns: Steve Johns, who’s been Cochrane’s colleague in the Sonny Fortune band, on drums and his prodigious 17-year-old son Daryl on bass.

“…  his music has sincerity and polish… Its execution within an honored tradition is so error-free that piano-trio addicts (and there are many out there) can simply trust it and relax. We can rely on it at any time of the day or night for sustenance and consolation. Not junk food. Comfort food .

(Thomas Conrad, JazzTimes on “ Right Now ” (SCCD 31627)

1. Yesterdays (Jerome Kern)
2. Visitation (Sam Jones)
3. How Deep Is The Ocean (Irving Berlin)
4. Quiet Now (Denny Seitlin)
5. Discovery (Michael Cochrane)
6. M. C.’s Bossa (Michael Cochrane)
7. Oblivion (Bud Powell)
8. Fantasy (Michael Cochrane)
9. Erie Blues (Michael Cochrane)

UPC/EAN: 716043178629