SCCD 31263 Una Max / Louis Hayes Sextet

Master drummer and band leader Louis Hayes (b. May 31, 1937 in Detroit) moved to New York in 1956 to replace Art Taylor in the Horace Silver Quintet and since then he has played with host of top names like Cannonball Adderley, Oscar Peterson, McCoy Tyner, Freddie Hubbard, etc.

“.. .This particular sextet …affords us the chance to hear six contemporary masters at something near the top of their game….timeless excellence …” (Jazz Journal)

1. El cid (Clint Houston)
2. Ibis (Kenny Barron)
3. You don't know what love is (DePaul/Raye)
4. Geri (Clint Houston)
5. Una max (Louis Hayes/Clint Houston)
6. Saudade (Clint Houston)
7. Ruthie's heart (Charles Tolliver)

UPC/EAN: 716043126323