SCCD 31845 Joe Magnarelli “Magic Trick”

When trumpeter Joe Magnarelli (known to most people as Mags) moved to New York City in 1986, he was already fully cultivated and nurtured in the rich jazz environment of upstate New York, especially around Syracuse where he was born.

In NYC Joe Magnarelli has rapidly found his own voice and established himself as one of the most-in-demand artists. This is Mags’s first album as a leader on SteepleChase label.

“The bop-based trumpeter Joe Magnarelli has it all: a warm, friendly sound, a splendid melodic imagination, a knack for writing memorable themes and for picking the best works by others, and a no-nonsense swing feel.” (The Star-Ledger)

“… Joe Magnarelli has all the essentials one looks for in the best jazz musicians. There’s his unshakeable time feel that makes his work vigorous and forward moving …. he crafts captivating, propulsive improvisations …” (Los Angeles Times)

ANDY FUSCO alto saxophone
JOHN HART guitar

Recorded April 2017

1 AKIRA’S RIFF (Joe Magnarelli) 5:55
2 2ND ANNIVERSARY (Joe Magnarelli) 5:27
3 VERCELLI (Joe Magnarelli) 6:08
4 POLKADOTS AND MOONBEAMS (Jimmy Van Heusen) 6:48
5 IF I LOVE AGAIN (Ben Oakland) 6:18
6 REMEMBER (Irving Berlin) 7:58
7 THEME FOR ERNIE (Fred Lacey) 5:26
8 MAGIC TRICK (Joe Magnarelli) 6:52
9 L.O.V.E. (Bert Kaempfer) 6:36
10 ALONG CAME BETTY (Benny Golson) 9:32

Total Playing Time 67:00

UPC 716043184521