SCCD 33116 Christian Coleman/Gavin Ahearn Quartet “Cooper Ridge”

New York-based drummer/composer Christian Coleman and one of Australia’s leading pianist Gavin Ahearn worked and recorded together in Sydney in 2008. They got together again in New York to record early this year. The superb recording came under the radar of SteepleChase LookOut label resulting in this release. .

The session was further joined by the winner of the 2008 Thelonious Monk Saxophone Competition Jon Irabagon and New York’s up and coming bassist Iranian-American Sam Minaie.

1. Fly Away Butterfly (Gavin Ahearn)
2. Trample (Christian Coleman)
3. Vortex (Gavin Ahearn)
4. Bearspray (Christian Coleman)
5. Mount Wellington (Gavin Ahearn)
6. The Kelley House (Christian Coleman)
7. Tuk Tuk (Gavin Ahearn)
8. Take Me To The Goldmine (Briana Cowlishaw)
9. Maid Melly (Christian Coleman)

UPC/EAN: 716043311620