SCCD 31807 Chris Byars Sextet “Two Fives”

Award-winning saxophonist/composer CHRIS BYARS divides his artistic focus between development of original material and studying the vast repertoire of jazz composers of the 20th century. During the past five years under SteepleChase label Chris Byars released two albums of his own materials and four albums paying tribute to unsung heroes of bebop compositions of 40s and 50s: Gigi Gryce, Lucky Thompson, Freddie Redd and Duke Jordan respectively. On this new album Byars combines the result of his research into historical compositions and his
own creation.

Lucky Strikes Again coaxes a huge sound out of five horns, a credit to the quality of the arrangements… Byars has put together a set of concise, rewarding tracks with a band that turns in a terrific performance of outstanding material.” (AAJ – Greg Simons on SCCD 31713 “Lucky Strikes Again”)

“Classic bebop was never strong on formal composition, but Duke Jordan, who died in 2006, was a rare exception… 11 of his pieces are played here by a sextet led by alto saxophonist Chris Byars. The players are all young enough to have been Jordan’s grandchildren, but together they create exactly the full, mellow sound his harmonies demand… an excellent set.”  (The Guardian UK – Dave Gelly on SCCD 31787 “The Music Of Duke Jordan”)

CHRIS BYARS alto saxophone
STEFANO DOGLIONI bass clarinet
JOHN MOSCA trombone

Recorded March 2014

1 LITTLE INDIA (Chris Byars) 5:15
2 TAXI BIRD (Chris Byars) 5:02
3 EXPRESS (Chris Byars) 4:45
4 HELLO PORK PIE HAT (Chris Byars) 8:04
5 BERK-BOP (Chris Byars) 5:47
6 DANNY BOY (traditional) 8:08
7 SEABREEZE (Larry Douglas) 10:31
8 SOULTRANE (Tadd Dameron) 5:21
9 LADY LINDA (Duke Jordan) 6:10
10 CRAZEOLOGY (Benny Harris) 6:52

Total Playing Time 66:03

EAN/UPC 716043180721