SCCD 31481 Chainsaw / Ari Ambrose Quartet

Ari Ambrose with this his third CD is no longer a new comer who need an introduction. Although he is still young (26) and relatively new on the scene, there is no doubt that here is an artist with tremendous potential.

As his former teacher saxophonist Dick Oatts puts it, “ Of all the young talents, his is the one that has given me the most pleasure…a great player….He’s truly immersed himself in the music in the best possible way…

In this impressive leader debut, tenor saxophonist Ari Ambrose steps to the fore as a fully formed stylist. …At 26, the brash New Yorker is a master of his horn …” (Chuck Berg, JazzTimes)

1. Chainsaw (Carlo De Rosa)
2. Come rain or come shine (Harry Arlen)
3. Blues for Madlong (Ari Ambrose)
4. Ghost of a chance (Young/Washington)
5. Giant steps (John Coltrane)
6. Think of one (Thelonious Monk)
7. Zingaro (Antonio Carlos Jobim)
8. Wheels (Carlo De Rosa)
9. Cotton Tail (Duke Ellington)

UPC/EAN: 716043148127