SCCD 31809 Stanley Cowell Trio “Reminiscent”

Since his retirement in 2013 from the professorship at the prestigious Rutgers University, where he led its jazz department, pianist/composer/educator Stanley Cowell has been increasingly active on the scene both in concerts and recordings. This new album with a featured program of Christmas melodies (Xmas Suite) will be introduced to the audience at New York’s Smoke Jazz & Supper Club.

“…it’s a great pleasure to hear Stanley Cowell’s It’s Time: a finely crafted collection of mostly originals that is at once sophisticated, both aggressive and pensive, and simply fascinating to listen to.” (Greg Simmons – AAJ on “It’s Time” SCCD 31740)

STANLEY COWELL piano, thumb piano*

Recorded February 2015

1 INTERMEZZO (Johannes Brahms) 4:11
2 RE-CONFIRMED (Stanley Cowell) 6:05
3 A CHILD IS BORN (Thad Jones) 7:55
4 A XMAS SUITE (Stanley Cowell) 10:03
4.1 A Xmas Melody (Stanley Cowell)
4.2 It Came Upon The Midnight Clear (Edmond Sears)
4.3 We Three Kings Of The Orient Are (John Henry Hopkins Jr.)
4.4 Winter Wonderland (Felix Bernard)
4.5 A Xmas Melody (Stanley Cowell)
4.6 Jingle Bells (James Lord Pierpont)
5 PEACE (Horace Silver) 6:44
6 MIDNIGHT DIVERSION (Stanley Cowell) 9:06
7 HEAR WITH ME (Sunny Cowell)* 3:34
8 TIME (Richie Powell) 6:48
9 REMINISCENT (Stanley Cowell) 5:11
10 SWEET SONG (Stanley Cowell) 5:22

Total Playing Time 65:01

EAN/UPC 716043180929