SCCD 31253 Sienna / Stanley Cowell Trio

Pianist and composer Stanley Cowell has been a central figure in the jazz scene since the late 60s. Apart from his own group, he is best known for his association with Art Pepper.

This his first album on SteepleChase finds Cowell comfortably back on the straight jazz after a few ‘fusion’ years.

“… impressive comeback album …” (Michael Rosenstein, Cadence)

“…. An excellent album ….” (The Penguin Guide to JAZZ)

1. Cal Massey (Stanley Cowell)
2. I think it's time to say goodbye again (Stanley Cowell)
3. Evidence (Thelonious Monk)
4. Sylvia's place (Stanley Cowell)
5. I concentrate on you (Cole Porter)
6. Sweet song (Stanley Cowell)
7. Sienna (Stanley Cowell)
8. Dis place (Stanley Cowell)
9. Celia (Bud Powell)

UPC/EAN: 716043125326