SCCD 31016 Dark Beauty / Kenny Drew Trio

In the last three decades of his life, Pianist Kenny Drew (1928 – 1993) lived in Copenhagen and left numerous outstanding recordings on SteepleChase.

Here on his first trio recording for the label, backed by “ Danish bass wizard ” (Melody Maker) Niels-Henning Ørsted Pedersen and “ intelligent purveyor of rhythm ” (Melody Maker) Tootie Heath, Kenny cut one of his most popular albums of his recording career.

“… extremely charming main stream jazz ..” (Swing Journal)

“… brilliant! ” (Jazz Magazine)

1. Run away (Per Carstens)
2. Dark beauty (Kenny Drew)
3. Summer night (Harry Warren)
4. All blues (Miles Davis)
5. A felicidade (Luiz Bonfa)
6. It could happen to you (Jimmy Van Heusen)
7. Love letters (Victor Young)
8. Silk bossa (Thomas Clausen)
9. Blues inn (Kenny Drew)
10. In your own sweet way (Dave Brubeck)
11. A stranger in Paradise (Wright/Foster)

UPC/EAN: 716043101627