40 years ago Bill Evans and Jim Hall recorded two brilliant duo albums called “Intermodulations” and “Undercurrent”. Andy Laverne and John Abercrombie whose collaboration dates back to the late 1960s

have been inspired by the Evans-Hall recordings and have been experimenting with the format.

Andy LaVerne remarks, " Over the years we have collaborated as a duo many times in concerts, club dates, workshop sessions. I guess Bill and Jim set a wonderful example to us of what could be achieved by the piano/guitar instrumentation .

This CD, though it is neither re-creation nor copying of the original material, is an evolution of the predecessors.

1. My funny Valentine (Richard Rodgers)
2. Darn that dream (Jimmy Van Heusen)
3. You go to my head (Coots/Gillespie)
4. Skating in Central Park (John Lewis)
5. Inner voice (Andy LaVerne)
6. Stairway to the stars (Parish/Malbeck/Signorelli)
7. I'm getting sentimental over you (Washington/Bassman)
8. All across the city (Jim Hall)
9. Chance meeting (Andy Laverne)
10. Turn out the stars (Bill Evans)
11. Adagio (Andy LaVerne)

UPC/EAN: 716043153824