SCCD 31058 Swingin' Till The Girls Come Home / Eddie “Lockjaw” Davis Quartet

One of the best assets of the Count Basie Big Band in the 50s, Eddie “Lockjaw” Davis was a frequent guest player in Europe in the 70s.

In the Spring of 76 Lockjaw went into a studio in Copenhagen with “ the excellent Danish rhythm section ” which “ manage to coax some of the best playing from the tenor saxophonist since his days with Basie” (Gramophone).

“.. .The mood, as always with Davis, is a happy one. With the help of the fine, supportive rhythm section it becomes contagious, and …it is an awful lot of fun to listen to .” (Fanfare)

Thankfully, the girls haven’t come home yet, so this rhythmic set of eight tunes (11 on this CD) swings out nicely…” (Billboard)

1. Swingin' till the girls come home (Oscar Pettiford)
2. Love for sale (Cole Porter)
3. Out of nowhere (Green/Heyman)
4. Ghost of a chance (Young/Washington)
5. Locks (Eddie Lockjaw Davis)
6. Wave (Antonio Carlos Jobim)
7. Back home in Indiana (MacDonald)
8. Bye bye blackbird (Dixon/Henderson)
9. Ghost of a chance (Young/Washington)
10. Swingin' till the girls come home (Oscar Pettiford)
11. Bye bye blackbird (Dixon/Henderson)

UPC/EAN: 716043105823