SCCD 31261 Fountainhead / Andy LaVerne & Dave Samuels

Pianist Andy LaVerne (b. New York, Dec. 4, 1947) has made some quite intriguing duo recordings since his recording debut on SteepleChase in 1977. This CD with vibraphonist Dave Samuels of Spyro Gyra may belong to the realm of “New Age” jazz. Though “New Age” is synonymous with “boring” for many, don’t be alarmed because

LaVerne and Samuels are two inventive musicians…clearly know what they are doing and their skill is unquestionable …”(Jazz Journal)

and the dialogue between the two is “ un discours plein de sensibilité et de joliesse. A découvrir .” (Revue du Jazz Rhône Alpes)

1. All the things you are (Jerome Kern)
2. Severe clear (Andy LaVerne)
3. ATB (Andy LaVerne)
4. Come to me (Andy LaVerne)
5. My Asian land (Dave Samuels)
6. ECB (Dave Samuels)
7. Fountainhead (Andy LaVerne)
8. Round corners (Dave Samuels)
9. Summer night (Harry Warren)
10. Waiting for you (Dave Samuels)
11. How deep is the ocean (Irving Berlin)

UPC/EAN: 716043126125