SCCD 31359 Live / Stanley Cowell Trio

Pianist and composer Stanley Cowell (b. May 5, 1941 in Toledo, OH) has been a central figure in the jazz scene since the late 60s.

The Stanley Cowell Trio here is his working group for several years. April, 1993, found the trio in Copenhagen, where Stanley has been a regular guest in the past three decades.

“… Stanley teaches us a great deal about himself and his love and respect for, and dedication to the music every time he puts his fingers on the keyboard. That Jazz House audience knew it. And we share it with them .” (Mark Gardner)

1. Anthropology (CharlieParker/Dizzy Gillespie)
2. Bright passion (Stanley Cowell)
3. Brilliant circles (Stanley Cowell)
4. Stella by starlight (Victor Young)
5. Prayer for peace (Stanley Cowell)
6. It don't mean a thing if it ain't got that swing (Duke Ellington)
7. Autumn leaves (Joseph Kosma)
8. In walked Bud (Thelonious Monk)

UPC/EAN: 716043135929