World premier recording!

Kontrapunkt 32188

Carl Nielsen: Hagbarth Og Signe, Ebbe Skammelsen,

Sankt Hans-Aftens Spil

Odense Symphony Orchestra

Henriette Bonde-Hansen soprano

Lars Thodberg Bertelsen baritone

Odense Philharmonic Choir

Children’s choir of the Funen Academy of Music

Tamás Vetö conductor

1. Hagbarth Og Signe (1910)

2. Ebbe Skammelsen (1925)

3. Sankt Hans-Aftens Spil (1913)

total playing time 66:14

recorded June 1994

In the summer of 1910 Carl Nielsen was asked to write incidental music for the inauguration of Denmark’s first open-air theatre in the royal deer park (Dyrehavbakken) just north of Copenhagen. This theatre was in use for about three decades and Nielsen composed for a few dramas for this theatre. As the scores have never been published, the music was little known to the later generation.

In collaboration with Odense Symphony Orchestra, Kontrapunkt revived these “unknown” Nielsen works to add to our Nielsen series.

Though the scoring is limited to voices, wind instruments and some percussion due to the open-air circumstances, music is very typically Nielsen from his most creative period.

1. Hagbarth Og Signe I Akt: No. 1 Indledning Og Harbarths Ankomst (Carl Nielsen)
2. Hagbarth Og Signe I Akt: No. 2 Allegretto Moderato (Carl Nielsen)
3. Hagbarth Og Signe I Akt: Introduktion Til Tvekamp (Carl Nielsen)
4. Hagbarth Og Signe I Akt: No. 3 Andante (Carl Nielsen)
5. Hagbarth Og Signe II Akt: No. 4 Andantino. Halloges Drapa (Carl Nielsen)
6. Hagbarth Og Signe III Akt: No. 5 Andantino Quasi Allegretto. Ternernes Dans (Carl Nielsen)
7. Hagbarth Og Signe III Akt: Signe's Monolog (Carl Nielsen)
8. Hagbarth Og Signe III Akt: No. 6 Andantino. Pigernes Sang (Carl Nielsen)
9. Hagbarth Og Signe III Akt: Hagbarth's Monolog (Carl Nielsen)
10. Hagbarth Og Signe III Akt: No. 7 Andantino. Halloges Kvad (Carl Nielsen)
11. Hagbarth Og Signe III Akt: Hagbarth Og Signe Dialog (Carl Nielsen)
12. Hagbarth Og Signe III Akt: No. 8 Andantino. Hagbarths Og Signes Afsked (Carl Nielsen)
13. Hagbarth Og Signe III Akt: No. 9 Andante Con Moto. Sorgemusik (Carl Nielsen)
14. Hagbarth Og Signe III Akt: Dr. Bera Monolog (Carl Nielsen)
15. Hagbarth Og Signe III Akt: No. 10 Andantino. Afslutningemusik (Carl Nielsen)
16. Ebbe Skammelsen I Afdeling: No.1 Poco Adagio. Forspil (Carl Nielsen)
17. Ebbe Skammelsen I Afdeling: Monolog (Carl Nielsen)
18. Ebbe Skammelsen I Afdeling: No.2 Allegretto. Bryllupsindtog (Carl Nielsen)
19. Ebbe Skammelsen I Afdeling: Monolog (Carl Nielsen)
20. Ebbe Skammelsen I Afdeling: No.3 Allegro. Fanfare (Carl Nielsen)
21. Ebbe Skammelsen I Afdeling: Monolog (Carl Nielsen)
22. Ebbe Skammelsen I Afdeling: No.4 Marsch (Carl Nielsen)
23. Ebbe Skammelsen II Afdeling: No.5 Allegretto. Ebbes Hjemkomst (Carl Nielsen)
24. Ebbe Skammelsen II Afdeling: No.6 Recitation Med Musikledsagelse (Carl Nielsen)
25. Ebbe Skammelsen II Afdeling: No.7 Andante. Taffelmusik (Carl Nielsen)
26. Ebbe Skammelsen III Afdeling: Ebbe's Monolog (Carl Nielsen)
27. Ebbe Skammelsen III Afdeling: No.8 Allegretto. Marsch Og Vekselsang (Carl Nielsen)
28. Ebbe Skammelsen III Afdeling: Adelils Og Ebbes Melodrama (Carl Nielsen)
29. Ebbe Skammelsen III Afdeling: No.9 Andante (Carl Nielsen)
30. Ebbe Skammelsen III Afdeling: No.10 Andantino (Carl Nielsen)
31. Ebbe Skammelsen III Afdeling: No.11 Andante – Allegro (Carl Nielsen)
32. Ebbe Skammelsen III Afdeling: No.12 Andante (baryton Solo) (Carl Nielsen)
33. Ebbe Skammelsen III Afdeling: No.13 Allegro. Kor I Skoven (Carl Nielsen)
34. Ebbe Skammelsen III Afdeling: No.14 Allegro. Narrens Vise (Carl Nielsen)
35. Ebbe Skammelsen III Afdeling: Ebbes Afsked (Carl Nielsen)
36. Ebbe Skammelsen III Afdeling: No.15 Andante Funebre. Sorgemusik (Carl Nielsen)
37. St. Hans Aftenspil: Forspil. Andante Tranquillo (Carl Nielsen)
38. St. Hans Aftenspil: No.1 Allegretto. Pigerne Inde I Skoven (Carl Nielsen)
39. St. Hans Aftenspil: No.2 Andantino. Ludvigs Monolog (Carl Nielsen)
40. St. Hans Aftenspil: No.3 Allegro Non Korende (Carl Nielsen)
41. St. Hans Aftenspil: Monolog. Aftenstemning (Carl Nielsen)
42. St. Hans Aftenspil: No.4 Andantino. Ludvig Og Marie (Carl Nielsen)
43. St. Hans Aftenspil: No.5 Adagio. Hymne (Carl Nielsen)
44. St. Hans Aftenspil: No.6 Andante Maestoso. Den Gamle Eg (Carl Nielsen)
45. St. Hans Aftenspil: No.7 Allegretto. Slutningskor (Carl Nielsen)

UPC/EAN: 716043218820