Kontrapunkt 32181

Robert Schumann: “Manfred” Op. 115

A dramatic poem by Lord Byron for soli, chorus & orchestra

Berliner Sinfonie-Orchester

Michael Schønwandt conductor

Jörg Gudzuhn narrator (Manfred)

Rundfunkchor Berlin

Dietrich Knothe chorus master

total playing time: 72:31

recorded October 1993

Kontrapunkt is proud to announce the release of Robert Schumann’s incidental music “Manfred” in the complete form.

This is probably the only complete “Manfred” (digital) recording available on CD presently. The text used here is in German, revised by Dr. Dietrich Steinbeck for this recording.

BSO’s Chief conductor Michael Schønwandt is Danish and just turned 40. Despite of his youth, Schønwandt has conducted most major orchestras in the world. He was the first Scandinavian conductor to conduct at the Wagner Festival in Bayreuth in 1987.

Earlier releases by Berliner Sinfonie Orchester with Michael Schønwandt: Ravel “Daphnis Et Chloé” (KPT 32152) and Berlioz “Requiem” (KPT 32143/4).

1. Ouverture (Robert Schumann)
2. Erste Abtheilung: [Dialog] (Robert Schumann)
3. Erste Abtheilung: 1 Gesang der Geister (Robert Schumann)
4. Erste Abtheilung: [Dialog] (Robert Schumann)
5. Erste Abtheilung: 2 Erscheinung eines Zauberbildes (Robert Schumann)
6. Erste Abtheilung: 3 Geisterbannfluch (Robert Schumann)
7. Erste Abtheilung: [Dialog] (Robert Schumann)
8. Erste Abtheilung:4 Alpenkuhreigen (Robert Schumann)
9. Zweite Abtheilung: 5 Zwischenactmusik (Robert Schumann)
10. Zweite Abtheilung: [Dialog] (Robert Schumann)
11. Zweite Abtheilung: 6 Rufung Der Alpenfee (Robert Schumann)
12. Zweite Abtheilung: [Dialog] (Robert Schumann)
13. Zweite Abtheilung: 7 Hymnus der Geister Ariman's (Robert Schumann)
14. Zweite Abtheilung: [Dialog] (Robert Schumann)
15. Zweite Abtheilung: 8 [Chorsatz] (Robert Schumann)
16. Zweite Abtheilung: 9 [Chorsatz] (Robert Schumann)
17. Zweite Abtheilung: 10 Beschwörung der Astarte (Robert Schumann)
18. Zweite Abtheilung: 11 Manfred's Ansprache an Astarte (Robert Schumann)
19. Dritte Abtheilung: 12 [Melodramatisch] (Robert Schumann)
20. Dritte Abtheilung: [Dialog] (Robert Schumann)
21. Dritte Abtheilung: 13 Abschied von der Sonne (Robert Schumann)
22. Dritte Abtheilung: 14 [Melodramatisch] (Robert Schumann)
23. Dritte Abtheilung: 15 Schluss-scene. Klostergesang (Robert Schumann)
24. Ouverture (Wiederholt) (Robert Schumann)

UPC/EAN: 716043218127